Regions of Georgia

From the Black sea to the Caucasus mountains, the country of Georgia is full of stunning landscapes, intriguing cities and centuries-old history. Georgia is divided into several Autonomous republics, municipalities and regions. Each area is unique in its own way, whether it’s cuisine, historical attractions, or differences in customs. This section will help you better understand some of the main regions of Georgia before you arrive in any area of this wonderfully diverse country.

Georgians themselves, when talking about their country, like to repeat that they have everything – mountains and sea, architecture and vineyards. Indeed, the area of Georgia is small, but the natural diversity is amazing.

Regions of Georgia

There is one city of national significance in Georgia-of course, it is beautiful Tbilisi, 9 regions (“mkhare” in Georgian) – Adjara, Guria, Imereti, Kakheti, Kvemo-Kartli, Mtskheta-Mtianeti, Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti, Samgrelo-Zemo Svaneti, Samtskhe-Javakheti, Shida Kartli. Georgia also includes two Autonomous republics (Abkhazia and Adjara). Unlike other regions, Autonomous republics have their own representative and Executive powers, their own budget and property. Abkhazia today is de jure controlled by the government of independent Abkhazia. But the border of Georgia with it is considered administrative, not state.

Regions are divided into municipalities (previously called districts), with a total of 71 districts in the country. The administrative division of Georgia basically corresponds to the historical division into provinces. Since 2006, municipalities have received the right to self-government, and with the same rights in Georgia have allocated five major cities-in addition to Tbilisi, as an independent unit at the regional level, there are also Kutaisi, Batumi, Rustavi, and Poti.



Shida Kartli









CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 90







Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti


Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo-Svaneti


Georgia is a unitary state whose borders were defined by law on December 21, 1991. The Autonomous region of South Ossetia today is not under the actual jurisdiction of Georgia and does not have a definitively defined constitutional status in the territorial structure of Georgia.

The regions roughly correspond to the traditional main historical and geographical regions of Georgia. The region is not a self-governing unit; rather, its function is to coordinate the relationship of several municipalities (with the exception of the municipalities of Adjara and Tbilisi) with the Central government of Georgia, which is represented in the region by an official appointed by the Prime Minister, the state Commissioner, informally known as the “Governor”.

From the coast to the mountains and everything in between, Georgia offers famous and unusual historical and natural gems in cities and towns. Start your trip in Georgia with us. We are always happy to arrange a pleasant vacation for You in any region of the country! Call: +995599955541